Deanery Synod

What is the Deanery Synod?

The Synod is a group of people from the local parishes of the Deanery.  It is made up of ‘two houses’ the ‘House of Clergy’ and the ‘House of Laity’.

The House of Clergy:

  • All Clerks in Holy Orders (clergy) beneficed or licensed by the Bishop who reside or work within the deanery.
  • All Clerical members of the General or Diocesan Synods resident in the deanery.
  • One or more Clerks in Holy Orders holding permission to officiate, one for every ten such Clerks resident or habitually worshipping in the deanery, elected or chosen from amongst their own number.
  • Co-opted Clerks in Holy Orders up to 5% of the total members of the House or three whichever is the greater.

The House of Laity:

  • Lay members of the General and Diocesan Synods whose names are entered on the roll of any parish in   the deanery.
  • Deaconesses and other full-time lay workers licensed to work in any part of the deanery.
  • Parochial representatives elected by the Annual Meetings of the parishes, in accordance with the formula here
  • Co-opted members (actual Communicants of sixteen years or upwards) up to 5% of the total members of the House or three whichever is the greater.

Each Deanery Synod has the following - a Secretary, Treasurer, Rural Dean and Lay Chair.  At the moment we are lacking a secretary, so if anyone is interested we would be glad to hear from you.  At the present time, the Rural Dean is our own Father Freddy.

The role of the Deanery Synod is to –

• Consider matters concerning the Church of England
• Bring together the views of the parishes of the deanery
• Act as a channel of communication between parishes and Diocesan Synod
• Effect decisions made by Diocesan Synod
• Raise matters with Diocesan Synod
• Elect representatives to Diocesan Synod and General Synod

The rules governing Deanery Synods are set out in Church Representation Rules part III, 24 - 29.